Photobucket I have said to much

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy being poor

Seems as though my stupid little town is actually doing something good for a change.We have empty buildings everywhere here.For instance,the old Kohls food store,we could use it for something right?No..instead they build a brand new walgreens right in front of the empty building.Why not use the empty building for the walgreens?So anyways,here in my little town,city,whatever,we have empty buildings.Big empty buildings on every side of the town.God forbid us to do anything good with these empty buildings.So I thought.It seems as though one of the charities we have called Hope Safehouse,has taken one of our empty buildings and made it into a place for the animal orphans of Katrina.Finding this out today,I bought a bag of dog food and a bag of cat food and drove on over to the shelter.I couldnt believe what I was seeing.There is a place for the vets to work,and they separated the "grumpy"animals from the happy ones.Cats on one side,dogs on the other.I wanted to take them all home with me.More of the grumpy ones then anything else.I dont necessarily like cats,much more of a dog person,but while I looked at the so called grumpy cats,I felt their pain.The dogs were much worse.One dog just stared at me and showed me his teeth,I stuck my hand through his fence anyways.He sniffed and walked away.I left the place only to find myself drowning in tears.I thought to myself "what is going to happen to the grumpy ones?"No one is willing to adopt them,yet they are the ones that need the love the most.They are the ones that are not happy with just being saved.They want their lives back.Their old lives.The ones they had with their owners.And then I thought about how their owners are probably no longer with us and thats when I pulled over and let it out.Some of these animals still have their owners,Hope Safehouse is working to find anyone that may have lost their pet,but some of these animals have no one,and those are the so called grumpy ones.The ones that know.The ones that need to be loved the most to remind them that they are loved and not alone.So today,instead of buying my dogs a 25 pound bag of food,I bought them a 5 pound bag and gave the 25 pounder to the shelter.My dogs will get their food tomorrow after I work,they dont even eat 5 pounds a day,they dont know the difference,my the animals in the shelter know the difference between not being able to eat and eating,and I felt good that I gave them maybe a days supply.So i am broke once again.But today is a good broke.I didnt need any money today,I needed to do something good for others today,and I am quite happy being broke.

8:04 p.m. - 2005-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry