Photobucket I have said to much

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dragonflies

**Open Your Wings**

I learned this morning that a dragonfly has a 24 hour life span,and that made me sad.Something so beautiful,so magical,so peaceful,is only around for a day?What kind of shit is that?Its a beautiful creature,so why only have that

certain peacefulness,that certain kind of feeling when your looking at one,why only have that just for one damn hour,and not a lifetime?It made me think of all the times I sat and watched one,or I saw one on the side of the house,and I looked at it,examining every detail of it,thinking how I wanted to capture it and hold it,and it made me think of how I felt when I watched it,and it made me sad to know that it only lives for a day.It lives that one day,flying around,going where ever it may want to go,just being alive,for just one day,it lives its life,and I thibnk about all those times when I was younger and found one "captured"on my porch,and how I would try to catch it to let it lose and sometimes I would,sometimes it would be quite easy to catch one,and I think that those that were easy to catch,they had already lived its life,its 24 hours,its one day,but I still caught them,and let them free,let them out into the world,and I know now that because I did that,I let them out in the world,just so that they could die,so they wouldnt die being "captured",so they could die being free.So they could die in an hour,a minute a second,just so they could die taking in that one last breath of living.

4:13 p.m. - 2004-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry